Pregnant Billboards


A few weeks ago I posted an article about a rather intriguing set of billboards that said things like “Interesting people…;” “Smart people…;” etc. I kept my eyes on it because I knew it would change, and change it did. Apparently it is for a news radio station (I haven’t been able to get a picture yet). I have to say, I was a little bit disappointed. I had hoped the campaign would last a little while longer, but it got my attention, for sure.

Another billboard has caught my attention, and this one is really cool. Texas Children’s Hospital here in Houston is in the process of building an extension of their hospital that caters specifically to women. It is called the “Texas Children’s Pavilion for Women,” and it is scheduled to open in March of 2012. A few months ago I saw a billboard advertising the pavilion, and it featured the profile of a woman, shot from the neck down, holding her belly. The first time I saw it, I was in the car with my wife (who works at Texas Children’s and will be moving to the new pavilion in March) and we both commented on the fact that we thought it was such a missed opportunity that the woman in the billboard did not look pregnant at all. She looked like she maybe had a burrito for lunch and had a food baby, but she certainly was not pregnant. Because I work in the advertising industry, I made some comment on how ridiculous I thought it was that some things get pushed through all the way to production and they are just bad.

A couple of days ago, I saw the billboard again and I thought, “Man, I guess I was wrong. Her belly does look pregnant.” My wife was in the car with me this time, too, and she commented on how the lady looked more pregnant. Then it hit me. March is about four months away. The typical pregnancy is 9 months (give or take). What if, every month, they are changing the billboard to show the woman getting further along in her pregnancy, and her due date is March? My wife even stated that the belly looks like a five month pregnant belly (which it would have to be for a March delivery).

I’m keeping an eye on this for sure, but if this is really what is going on, I think it is awesome. I love stuff like this, and it is why I am in advertising in the first place. I haven’t been able to take a picture of the billboard yet, but once I take one I will post it here. Stay tuned…

4 responses to “Pregnant Billboards

  1. Pingback: Month in review: December 2011 « Viral Infection·

  2. You have a good eye. That is exactly what they are doing. Those are actual clients who will be delivering the first babies on our due date (grand opening of the hospital.)

  3. I have been following them as well ans speaking to my UH communications classes about them. I hope to have the marketing folks come out and speak to my adv classes this fall. I’m also quite curious about the reaction by the marketing folks at Memorial Hermann and Woman’s Hospital to them. The nine-month build-up is brilliant.

Leave a Reply

